A New Executive Committee for the VT AAUP Chapter

The VT chapter of the AAUP has recently been refreshed with a new slate of leaders, and we look forward to partnering with faculty and graduate students across Virginia Tech to find ways to support and preserve teaching and research missions of the institution. The new leaders are:

Patty Raun, President, Virginia Tech Chapter of the AAUP
Uwe Tauber, Vice-President
Kristopher Hite, Secretary-Treasurer
Joe Merola, executive committee member
Chad Proudfoot, executive committee member
Richard Shryock, executive committee member

Virginia Tech’s chapter of the American Association of University Professors stands ready to work to support the interests of our constituents and our institution in these challenging times. We act to support AAUP’s mission to “advance academic freedom and shared governance; to define fundamental professional values and standards for higher education; to promote the economic security of faculty, academic professionals, graduate students, post‐doctoral fellows, and all those engaged in teaching and research in higher education; . . . and to ensure higher education’s contribution to the common We will represent faculty and graduate students on matters related to the physical, intellectual, and emotional health and the economic security of our community as the university moves forward in this next unpredictable period. We believe that the value of faculty participation in institutional decision-making has become urgently important given the current and future health and economic impacts of the COVID 19 pandemic on Virginia Tech.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.